Cosy Old Cardigan

By Stacebob

Final Day

Not only is this the last day of 2014, but it's also the last day for donations being taken on my Just Giving page for Operation Smile.

Back in July I did a 24hr live podcast with my good buddy Jenni. Joined by many guests, we had an absolute whale of a time chatting, laughing, trying not to nod off and generally raising money and awareness of Operation Smile.

If you're not aware of them, Operation Smile travel the world giving free surgeries to children with cleft palettes and other facial disfigurements, as well as giving training to doctors abroad to continue the work once they're gone. It's a wonderful cause that changes many children's lives for the better each year.

I must say, doing the 24hr show was certainly one of my highlights of the year. Although it took a lot of effort to arrange (I was contacting potential guests, planning time slots and researching broadcast programs from about January), the overwhelming wave of support from guests and listeners was just wonderful. So many people joined in via Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, sharing the donation page link, asking questions and offering support and feedback. As soon as we finished the broadcast, my sleep deprived brain gave in a little at seeing all the support and loveliness, and I had a little happy-cry. Y'all are wonderful. I've learnt a lot from doing the show, and if I ever decide to do it again I've already come up with ways to make it smoother.

I just want to say a huge THANK YOU to all those who were on the show, tuned in, donated, shared links and basically made my year by being so awesome. If you would like to help a child smile in 2015, please think about popping some dosh in the kitty over at www.justgiving.com/SPCPLive before it closes tomorrow.

Much love!

S x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.