CharlesJamieson

By CharlesJamieson

I've got a bad cold, it's raining and I'm not going anywhere; I'm staying indoors SO today's photo is the 1958 Lone Ranger album I was given at Christmas. As chance would have it 1958 was an important year for The Lone Ranger and me. I was six years old and The Lone Ranger was by far and away the best thing on TV. So enthralled was I that my mother (bless her) made me a Lone Ranger outfit for Christmas that year. It bore little resemblance to the real outfit but there was a shirt, a hat, a double holster and two six guns....and the shirt had THE LONE RANGER embroidered on it. (Must have taken her ages.). The end result was that I believed I was the Lone Ranger whilst patrolling the local park in Rutherglen, six guns waiting to blaze into action. At that time, Glasgow Corporation in it's wisdom gave up much of its parkland to building. In Rutherglen half the park was to become a hospital and that was the half I was patrolling. I knew I shouldn't be there as a bulldozer had removed most of the turf and made great mounds at the parks edge. I climbed a mound to survey my territory when the bulldozer driver spotted me and instead of giving me an earful of Glaswegian he turned the bulldozer toward me and drove straight at me. It was, I can tell you, more than a little terrifying. Delighted to say that The Lone Ranger escaped unscathed having sprinted down the other side of the mound and through the gate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.