pauly joe

By pauliejoe

hello goodbye

"What a long, strange trip it’s been . . ."
- Jerry Garcia

It is with mixed emotions that I type this entry to my last blip. I’ve reached a goal set on the first of the year to post a photo once a day, and now the year has ended. To use a cliche, “my, how time flies.”

I discovered Blipfoto back in 2008, shortly after my father passed away. At that time, my daily postings were a bit of self therapy and a new challenge for me. I was able to stick with it and I think I had 400 or so in a row before I took a break. I took the time to develop friendships through commentary, and really enjoyed the community. I also thought that the interface was gorgeous and intuitive, and that was a major draw for me.

About a year ago, my sister CarlaJ asked a group of her friends, as well as me and my son Peteyo to take part in a 365 challenge on Blipfoto for 2014. The year passed quickly (as they all seem to do at my age). Out of all of us, I think only me and Pete met our goal of one a day for a year. 

I’ve had the pleasure of seeing my son push himself to accomplish his blip goal in 2014, and I think that has been my greatest pleasure of the past year.  He has a real talent for photography and some of the things he shoots take my breath away. I’m so proud of this young man.

On my birthday, Blip Central took the site down for a “refresh.” 

I like change, when change is for the better, but personally, I don’t think that the changes presented here were for the better. Maybe these changes meet the needs of a new audience when competing with the likes of facebook and other social networking sites. I really tried to like this new version of this site, but I don’t. I’m done here - at least for now. This post will total 838 entries on Blip.

I’ll be playing around on a new site called “youpic.com” - stop by if you get a chance.

Peace out Blipfoto. I wish you well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.