Circus Girl

By CirqueNoir

The Devil Within

West Queen West, Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario


We are each our own devil, and we make this world our hell. - Oscar Wilde


I can definitely relate to this quote.  We are the source of our own problems. We are the reason things go wrong for ourselves. There's no use in blaming some external force for the way things went wrong when we made the choice.  The root of our suffering is ourselves and the things that we have done. Simply.. We are all our worst enemies, our worst critics… and so many other cliche metaphors. I know it is true through my life specifically. 

I think one of my worst flaw is being a worrier like my mother. I love her so much but this sure is one gene I could do without. I worry, constantly, if it is about life, my family and relationships the worry consumes me. I was brought up being the good kid (the easy one being brought up compared to my sister who has had struggles throughout life). I was the child that was expected to be the best of the best. I have become an over critical (sometimes overbearing) girl, not only to I complicate my own life but I have a tendency to do the same on to others. I hope being able to get this out of my system will hopefully calm some nerves of mine and realize all I need right now is to enjoy my life, don’t stop and watch, I cannot be a fly on the wall. Its seems I have always seen my life as either halted or always on the go. I only had two choices, stop or go. As I grew older, I have grown accustom to the GO part of life, but I have found I don’t want to stop…  but I would like to relax. Relaxing is such an easy concept, yet somehow I can never achieve it in its entirety. I only wish to be able to enjoy my life. Stop the worry, stop the analysis.

I know you are supposed to make resolutions at the start of a new year. So, it is time to defeat the demons within each of us and aim for a better version of yourself each and every day. To Improve – we make this world our Heaven

Happy New Year to you all !!!! x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.