Big brother....

... not really, just another example of the power of technology.

The General Assembly of the Church of Scotland starts on Saturday. I am a Commissioner - as you can see I am Number 25 out of 851! This is nothing to do with status, but is largely because of where I live.

The Smart Card goes with a Card Reader that I will be given on arrival and should carry for the rest of Assembly. This card allows me to vote, and also registers my attendance at each session! Sadly, it doesn't work to sit at home and watch the Assembly live on the internet and vote from there. In fact, I am reliably informed that it doesn't even work from the Ensign Ewart bar behind the Assembly Hall.

There will be no escape - at least, not without it being recorded somewhere!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.