Arnside

If you live in the South Lakes, then all too often the weather will foil your plans. Funnily enough, even after over twenty years of living here, I still fail to allow for bad weather and don't have a waterproof jacket or carry an umbrella. I'm not sure if that's stupidity, optimism or laziness. However, no matter which of those is responsible, today it didn't matter as the weather was lovely; clear, bright and just chilly enough to be refreshing. 

My mum and dad fancied popping down to Arnside and, as I suspected there might be a bit of ice about, I decided to stick to the main roads, rather than heading down the back lanes. That didn't mean I had to take a direct path, of course, and we headed down through Carnforth, Warton, the various Yealands - Conyers, Redmayne and Storrs - and into Arnside itself, where we parked up and had a stroll heading south-west along the coast path.

Not that we went too far but far enough to enjoy the view across to Grange-over-Sands. I'd taken a couple of snaps of the viaduct - over which the trains run - earlier on but on our way back I took this photo as the light was catching it perfectly. I thought we'd go for a cup of tea but my folks fancied something a little stronger, so we headed 'round to the Ship Inn. Perfect!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.