Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

mending the nets.........

Dark thunderclouds in the skies today and we had heavy rains in the night! Took myself off walking - I know this area quite well.  Near the lodge is a 'white man's cemetery' where early missionaries were buried in the late 1800's.  The graveyard is in bad repair now which is a shame as its a piece of history!  Most of the people who are buried there are young and there are a couple of babies with the headstone just reading 'baby'.  As well as the missionaries, there are two other more recent graves, one the founder of the lodge where I am staying who died in an accident, and the other a young man whose body was found in the lake.

Leaving the graves I climbed Makuzi hill where you get a fabulous view of the area overlooking Kande beach and various other small bays.  On the way down, I came across this man mending his fishing nets - he was delighted when I asked if I could take his picture!!

I then wandered through the village and had a chat with come of the locals - a good day!  Its such a sandy area that the only crop which is grown here is cassava - vegetables have to be grown inland!

In the evening the lodge had a special New Years celebration organised - lots of food and fun and fireworks on the beach.  Unfortunately we had to take the tables inside due to an amazing thunderstorm..........who needs electricity anyway when you have lightning!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.