Didn't Regret My Egression

Still trying to shake off this cold and cough but decided to go to Stow Maries WW1 aerodrome in the hope of shooting the New Year's Day fly in. All was quiet when I arrived, apart from in the mess. There were four or five air marshallers all togged in high vis with no planes to shepherd. I hung about for a while but when I heard that the contingent from Headcorn was coming by road I gave up.

I decided to have a walk at Heybridge Basin. I was captivated by a huge flock of birds piping as they wheeled against the grey. They then settled but on the other side of the river. I have learnt that they were golden plovers and the flock is around a thousand strong.

Avocets too. Not so many of these, maybe a hundred, each was standing on one leg with its head tucked under its wing.

I watched my little egret fishing by the sea lock. It is up to its ankles in mud, the top of its yellow feet can just be seen. It's not going to get very fat on the tiddler it has caught.

I bought myself a lovely warming hot chocolate and a tasty bacon roll from a quaint shed/kiosk before I headed for home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.