Black computer case. Like last year we've received a load of these well used ones, for the Students to take apart and reassemble. Most are filthy inside. Full of dust and fluff. So clean up time commenced. 5 done, 13 to go.

Swim this evening. Was asking one of the other regulars about various injuries he seemed to have acquired. A pedestrian stepped out in front of him, and he'd crashed whilst trying to avoid him. I'd quipped that he might have come off better if he'd run into him... about an hour later, on the way home from swimming, I had my first ever collision with a pedestrian. A large lad. He stepped out with his back to me, whilst talking to his mates. I braked hard from about 20 to 25mph, and along with his mates shouted to warn him. I turned the handlebars/wheel away from him whilst still braking just prior to the thump. Another metre and I've managed to stop. Didn't fall off, and he wasn't knocked over, but I suspect he'll have one hell of a bruise tomorrow. He laughed it off and ran off after his mates. Leaving me slightly shocked, and with a bicycle needing attention.

The bicycle came off worst. At first I thought it was just the mudguards, and they took an age to sort out. Handlebars knocked off–line? It looked a bit that way. Tried straightening them a bit. No joy there. They hadn't been moved in years, and were well seized up. Carried on slowly for the remainder of the journey. Going through the possible cause for things being misaligned, I came to the conclusion that the forks were twisted. The combination of me braking hard, turning the handlebars, and the wheel glancing off the lad, must have done it. As they're ancient, it would be best to replace them rather than having them straightened. Suspect I'll have to have some custom made, as finding a pair for a 1980 bicycle won't be easy. This bicycle is going to be out of action for a long time. Hopefully not permanently. It's like an old friend. We have a lot of history. And (some of it) has done more miles than most cars do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.