Project 365

By whoischristophr

001:365 Saying Goodbye to Christmas

http://www.whoischristopher.com/001365-saying-goodbye-to-christmas/


This is the first photo for my Project 365 of 2015. I plan to take a photo every day and post it here. It is my hope that by continually focusing on photography in this way, my skills in both composition and post-processing will improve.

When I was a kid, our Christmas tree went up the day after Thanksgiving and came down New Year’s Day. As an adult, I often don’t get the tree up immediately after Thanksgiving but I always keep it up until at least New Year’s (and one shameful year well into March).

I love all the buildup to Christmas: the presents and the decorating and meal-making. But I especially love after-Christmas. It’s almost a holiday unto itself. The pressure is off; the gifts have been given and received. The decorations are still there twinkling reminders of the season of new beginnings and hope-filled resolutions.

To me, the week after Christmas is in many ways more Christmassy than the weeks preceding it. And the first day of the new year is the perfect closure to the holiday season. The pulling down, wrapping up and packing away of the festivities, stored away for the next time.

Happy New Year!

Canon 7D | EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro | f/2.8 | ISO 2500

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.