... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Goosles: Triumph Ceremony

Blip 1000, and the Goosles certainly didn't hold back...
A belated Happy New Year; I've back blipped the last couple of days.

I wasn't at all sure what I'd blip for this milemark, but then the Goosles tackled interloper Egyptian geese at Eagle Pond while I was visiting: Mr. chased them off and returned to Mrs. to perform their noisy and showy triumph ceremony! He was so riled up that he then shot off and chased away a whole load of mallards before returning to perform another triumph ceremony... Seeing one triumph ceremony is a treat, so two in one visit was special, and seemed suitably celebratory for my blip.

I do feel rather lame for posting milemarks when I'm participating as such a blip-ghost at the moment... I miss participating more wholeheartedly: I miss keeping up with others' journals and having daily to-and-fro with blip-friends via comments. I'm glad that I'm still putting up a picture a day (as my own project), but do very much look forward to being more a part of the community again.

Sigh, and the new blip, where to start. I'm not a fan, and today's announcement (Polaroid before blipfoto...) makes me feel even more worried about the direction it'll take: will blip now fade too? I try to remain positive about it, and to remember that it is the concept, our individual photo projects, and the interactions between blippers that makes this community special, but the feel of the place is not insignificant. Several non-blippers who follow my journal (friends and family) have commented on how generic and 'cheap' it now seems, which is disheartening.

ANYWAY, I plan to continue, and am very grateful to all those who still look in and leave me feedback in spite of my almost absence.

I've uploaded other shots to my (surprisingly similar-seeming) Flickr account: Eagle Pond shots are right from here, and more shots of the territorial hubbub and triumph ceremonies are right from here.

Other highlights:
Shoveler scratching its ear
Mrs. preening
Mrs. shaking her (tail) feathers
Goosles touching (very unusual)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.