An Image a Day

By GeeEss

Two Ways to Play

My OH Fiona and I have over the past month been enjoying "Portrait Artist of the Year 2014" on Sky Arts. After watching the final programme on New Years Day we decided to see the £10,000 commission that the winner Christian Hook was given as winner of the competition which was on behalf of the Scottish National Portrait Gallery . The prize was to capture actor Alan Cummings on behalf of the gallery. We both loved the final outcome which reflected the subject very well and also showcased the very talented artist as well. I wanted to include the painting in my Blip for today and had a number of ideas before arriving at the gallery. On surveying the scene I decided to incorporate the bust to the right in my image as well and did a little fiddling in PS to give me the final result. On leaving the gallery I noticed another exhibition " Beauty by Design" and took a look and right away saw the potential for another shot. My good lady provided the figure to complement the hanging lace garments . It did leave me with a dilemma however on what was to by my Blip. In the end I couldn't decide between them so have icluded both

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.