Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Hot and Steamy in #Oxenhope

I was at a loose end this afternoon. After thinking about taking the Christmas tree down and also thinking about my tax return I decided that both these jobs were best left for a rainy day. 

The sun was shining so I grabbed my camera and headed off in the direction of Cromwell Bottom nature reserve. On reaching the traffic lights I had a change of mind and headed west towards Ogden Water. But the place was full of dog walkers and people bringing Christmas trees for recycling, so I kept going and headed over to Oxenhope station where  in exchange for 50p I can buy a platform ticket and I can mess about to my hearts content.

The coffee from the station buffet was scalding hot and the 43924 loco was as steamy as ever. This young man stood on the platform looking mesmerised - yes there is a fire with real flames in there!

Engine number 3924 entered service in 1920. It was renumbered 43924 on nationalisation and was finally withdrawn by British Railways in June 1965. 

After an hour or so at Oxenhope, I headed over the moors to Hebden Bridge   and eventually back to Halifax.

I managed to avoid running into David Cameron who happened to be in town today.

More  photos here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.