A dunnock vying for eating space with a blackbird

It has been a lovely sunny day and I took Helena's advice and went out to the cabin late this morning.  My foot is a little better and I was happy to stand, although long walks are painful, so the short drop down the steps to the patio and the cabin was a sensible option.

I took my camera gear and set up my tripod pointing out through the window and brought my DAB radio for musical company.  I played around with the settings and upped the iso perhaps a little too much.  I also filled the feeders with suet and sunflowers seeds and sat back to wait.

I was entertained by the usual suspects: robins, coal tits, bullfinches, longtailed tits, nuthatches and blackcaps of both sexes.  The two blackbirds were very shy and this one didn't stay long, perhaps because it was being bombed by this dunnock, which is normally a very shy and retiring creature.  Actually the perspective has created an artificial proximity as the dunnock flew in front of the blackbird and they didn't confront each other.  The dunnock only reached the feeding tray once, so must have a hard time competing, unlike the longtailed tits and goldfinches which seem to be happy to sit on the feeders and are not perturbed by other visitors.  I love both of the latter's styles of singing, being flocking birds rather than loners, as well their forms looking very appealing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.