Skyroad

By Skyroad

A Walled City, Thingmote, The Shadow Of Weaponry

Spent a morning immersed (in as much as I can manage to get immersed) in a history of Dublin. I didn't get far, just read and reread the first few pages to try to imprint some of the details in my memory. I even drew a rough map of the early settlement (8th to 11th Centuries). It's becoming clearer, but I have a terrible head for dates and suchlike; the information swarms off the page and hovers about my head, rather than inside it.  

Later, a run with Lola in the park, then, after lunch, a jaunt to Pigeon House road. The temperature has dropped again. Yesterday was warm and windy, today decidedly colder. Stopped in at the scrap metal dock, the scrapheap looking like a rearing scrap metal wave against the misted moon. I think I've photographed it too many time though. Finally I drove out to the Shelly Beds. I got out and was going to let Lola have a run on the beach but the wind was fairly bitter and I remember the last time I did that in a cold wind, gritty sand in my face and hands like marble. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.