River of Flowers

By doffy

Pigeon in the Cabbage Tree

Well, not really a pigeon but a Collared Dove. This is one of a pair who have been driving me mad for the last couple of days. They are trying to make a nest and cannot decide on the Cabbage Tree (Cordyline) or the Horse Chestnut Tree.

The mystery started early yesterday when I found dozens of thin twigs under the chestnut tree, they were not from any plant I have in my garden. Then it dawned on me that the doves were above my head piling these twigs onto the smooth branches, there was nothing for them to grip onto so they were sliding off.

Today they were concentrating on the cordyline but making little or no progress! Maybe they are newlyweds and haven't been on the nestbuilding course ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.