Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

While There's Shine There's Hope

My brother and I are both old train buffs although he is much further gone more knowledgeable than I am. We visited the old disused Oberon Railway Station today which is the headquarters of the Oberon Tarana Tourist Railway. They made a start some years ago, even purchasing a pair of 73 Class diesel electric locomotives, which sit silently, polished to the nines, at the old platform. Alas the task ahead is gargantuan and (given the shortage of labour and money) it is difficult to see the restoration of the 25kms of old track ever getting properly underway - let alone becoming completed and safety compliant. Still ... the tour of what is effectively a local railway museum was most interesting.

I am going to make one final statement about "Polaroid Blipfoto". The recent changes to the site were represented as being solely about the interests of members. I care about this site and I care about my Blip friends. Accordingly I felt that there was some point in expressing my concerns and raising attention concerning aspects of the new design which seemed unsatisfactory. Now it appears that the changes were really about the sale of Blipfoto to Polaroid and had precious little to do with the welfare of paying members after all.

In short I felt that Blip Central had not been especially (shall we say) "frank" with us. I have expressed my disappointment to Blip Central concerning this but feel it is pointless saying more. What is happening now seems little to do with us and we are unlikely to enjoy any significant influence over it. I await developments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.