CrimsonDragon

By CrimsonDragon

A ventilator for premature babies.

Work today at the hospital. Being in all day I was stuck for a photo, I wanted to take one of people I work with be there was nothing interesting going on, so I photographed a ventilator we had in for service, these are used on premature babies to keep them breathing properly and in some cases, alive.

On the hospital theme, I once spent a week in Uganda teaching on a course for anaesthetists. As part of that I spent the day in the theatre watching and photographing a number of cleft lip and palate operations on children.
In Africa and many other places being born with a cleft lip and or palate can make a child an outcast for life.
Surgery has been able to repair these for years but today surgeons are so good that the operation makes the repair almost invisible. The child's whole life is transformed by an operation that takes an hour and a half.
For the most part the day has been cloudy, windy with some rain here and there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.