Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

New Year Plant Hunt

Today I'd arranged a New year Plant Hunt, as part of a national initiative organised by the BSBI. I dosed myself up with Beechams flu pills and an extra set of ibuprofen, and actually felt quite good on the three hour walk. Luckily the sun shone, and we had an excellent turn out of ten botanists. We recorded 46 species in flower, and a total of just over 140 species for the tetrad.

Some of the group came back for hot soup and bread, as well as cups of tea and cake. All much needed as the wind had become decidedly chilly by the end of the walk. I felt OK until about five, when my nose started to stream - so it was another quiet evening and early night.

The news of the Blipfoto merger with Polaroid came as a bit of a shock, although it explains a lot of what's been going on in the past few weeks. The rational part of me understands that something had to change to keep the site functioning, but I can't help feeling a loss of trust  - it all seems a bit underhand and a lot of stalwart blippers are now feeling very disgruntled. I shall hang around to see how the site develops over the next few months - I hope the merger proves to be a good move...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.