Grey January Saturday

This morning (I'd woke early and gone back to sleep!) I had a weird dream. I was wandering round a market near the seaside when I noticed an old fashioned travelling fair setting up nearby. There was an organist, performing monkeys, a clairvoyant, a snake-oil salesman/healer type of guy and other tents. They were beautiful and ornate. I bought some chestnuts from a vendor, and asked if I could take photos. He was weird and creepy, but said I could. I took a few shots, but I turned round and they'd gone, as had my purse, bag, camera etc.Turned out they'd robbed several people and scarpered! What a weird dream!

When I woke up I had a really sore throat! It's even worse now. Here's a bit of inside info for you: people working in little take-aways tend not to get paid if they are off sick. They also tend to be on low wages, and of course only do the job because they need the cash. (I don't think schlepping chips is anyone's called vocation.) So draw your own conclusions...

I had to go into town - Brian and the boys wanted stuff from Greggs and I wanted some Benylin cold remedy. I spent longer in town than I wanted as I couldn't summon up the will or energy to walk back! 

I took this shot from the road bridge, looking up Broadgate towards the Cathedral. I think it gives some impression of what today is like here in Lincoln!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.