Walks, views, stuff

By jackiep

Old and new

03 Jan 2015 Hopetoun Monument, Mount Hill / Wind turbine at Over Rankeilour Farms, Westhall, near Cupar.

The Hopetoun Monument was built to commemorate Sir John Hope of Over Rankeilour in 1826, and stands 100ft (approx 30m) high. (A matching monument was constructed near Edinburgh in 1824.)
The wind turbine was constructed in 2012 to provide power for potato cold storage, with the hub at a height of 32m.

While contemplating the 'old and new' in this blip, I can't avoid thinking about the changes that have been brought to blipfoto recently. Not everyone likes the arrival of renewal energy in the form of turbines in scenic areas, but I have to say I find them usually to be examples of good design, and a sign of how we need to change and adapt. I have recently been commenting on some local planning developments, and try hard to make the comments objective rather than a focus on how it effects me personally. Not easy! My main issue was the opaque processes that meant developments were already under way before the 'consultation period' had ended. Perhaps some similarities to be found with the arrival of the new White Site?

As for 'Polaroid' blipfoto - I'm yet to make up my mind. It certainly doesn't feel like the unique community it was, and the way the changes happened seemed rather odd. On a personal level I was sorely disappointed that my '365 challenge' which got me into blipping a year ago just passed by unnoticed. For me it was not about posting a certain number of photos, it was about forming a habit to post one EVERY day for a year. I love the fact I now pause at least once a day to find something remarkable in my surroundings, and I love(d) the overwhelming positivity about blipfoto. I sincerely hope that aspect will continue, but have decided to take a haitus while I decide whether the new site will be for me...

I will continue to take and save a photo every day, but may not add them to blipfoto for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.