Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

St Michael & All Angels Church, Llanfihangel Rogie

It was pouring down with rain in contrast to yesterday which was lovely and sunny. I fancied a ride and made my way out towards Chepstow as I know the weather can be different there as it seems to have a 'micro climate'. It wasn't raining there, but I think it had generally stopped.

On the way home I drove through Caldicot and Magor into the little hamlet of Llanfihangel Rogiet. There is a church in the field (St Michael and All Angels) which you can only approach on foot through a farm yard. I have often seen it from the M4 (just where the A48(M) and M4 converge and it has intrigued me. Today was my chance to look up close. As a bonus it was open. Unusual.

Most of the fabric of the church dates back to the 13th century, and the chancel was extended in the following century. The church was restored  in 1904, the work being paid for by Lord Tredegar. The work carried out included rebuilding the north aisle. In doing this, two medieval effigies were found, one being that of Anne Martel, and the other possibly of her husband, John. Also at this time a squint between the aisle and the chancel was revealed.

As I was walking back to the car, I saw a really dramatic sky over the church and farmhouse. It begged to be taken! In the blip photo you can see the church tower to the left of the farmhouse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.