Scrawny Old Man

By richtoller

Wet and wildness

What would the world be, once bereft
Of wet and of wildness? Let them be left,
O let them be left, wildness and wet;
Long live the leaves and the wilderness yet.
(Gerard Manley Hopkins, Inversnaid)

Going up Maspie Den from Falkland up to the Lomond Hills you walk behind this waterfall - one of the highlights of a lovely walk.
We were doing it as a recce for the Devil's Burdens race (see Tuesday), though this bit isn't on the race route which follows a higher track, then goes up to East Lomond and very steeply down to the forests and back to the finish in Falkland - that's the last of the 4-leg relay. Next time, whichever leg I do, I'll be running. With some walking on the steepest ascents.
Today was more leisurely and the day was perfect, sunny and clear all the way to the snow-covered highlands. And when we'd finished we had soup at the Pillars of Hercules, an organic food shop with cafe/restaurant - one of the must-visit places in Fife Scotland.
Before that was parkrun on a crisp cold morning (though not cold enough to freeze the mud). Mrs RT volunteered, scanning barcodes, and I managed to volunteer and run, trying something new - pacer for 25 minutes. Quite a challenge because of the hills - you can't do 25 minutes for 5k at Camperdown simply by doing 5-minute kilometres. My suggested pace was 4:30 - 4:30 - 6:00 - 4:45 - 5:15. I just had to adjust a little each time to keep on pace and really enjoyed the challenge. There was nobody following me closely, but a couple of people sped up when I passed them and the guy who chased me up the final hill got a pb, so maybe I helped somebody.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.