Barman's Blips

By barman58

Look what I saw Wren I arrived

Went back to the lakes again today, hoping to see more of the young Tawny Owls ... .... Unfortunately I could not locate them, the have I think moved to a better feeding area, Will keep looking

Whilst waiting and watching, something caught the corner of my eye, flitting back and fore, into the roots of the trees where they emerge from a bank of the feeder stream for the lakes.

A little investigation and i discovered a Wren nest building. I spent a pleasant hour or so watching him bring all sorts of sticks and leaves to the nest.

The male wren builds a number of nests, of which one is selected by the female for laying, Though there may not be only the one female in any particular male's set of nest's, Polygamy is also practised to some extent by the female Wren, who will often have "a bit on the side".

The mating habits of the humble Wren, would not look out of place in the steamier parts of suburbia;

The image today shows the male Wren carrying nest material to the nest, the lighting was not great, in fact there was a light drizzle all the time I was there

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.