Rusty

This lovely red-grey squirrel lives in the grounds of Dulwich College.

Fred and I walked to the Horniman Museum via pie, tea and a bookshop browse in Dulwich Village. There's an inspiring art exhibition at the Horniman by Kurt Jackson called River. The paintings are best seen at a distance, but close up, you can spot bits of twig and feathers that stuck to the canvas as he painted by the various rivers around the UK and France. The video of him working shows him getting really stuck in with the paint, sloshing it about with his boots.

The Romanian exhibition there was also interesting, mainly for the photographic portraits.

I also had great fun looking at the fish, for a visit to the Horniman isn't complete without venturing down to the aquarium.

We caught the bus back and thought we'd take it to the last stop in Brixton for a spur-of-the-moment cinema trip. We saw Manakamana, which was fascinating in a people-watching way. I was transported in my cinema seat to a seat in a cable car in Nepal, looking at two people opposite travelling up to a temple. Sometimes they caught my eye (the camera), but most looked down and around. I found myself watching the people, but also looking out for goats on the hillside and any other wildlife in the trees. There's a large danger of falling asleep – sitting in a cable car for an hour or so will do that. I thought the film was interesting, but I don't want to think too much about the gory aspect of the temple (a live chicken in one cable car is a dead chicken on the return visit).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.