Weekly record

Rummaging in a cupboard recently I came across this shoebox of letters. If this were a novel they would have been love letters written to an elderly aunt in the mists of time, but these were not so romantic. These letters are those that I wrote every week to my parents-in-law during the two years that we lived in Kenya in the early seventies. My mother-in-law numbered every envelope and kept them in this shoe box, realising in her wisdom that one day they would interest us.
I've read them before, of course, but having found them again I couldn't resist looking at one or two, and before long I was hooked and the memories came flooding back.
Our children were seven and five. We lived in a Nairobi leafy European suburb and were part of the Shell community. The letters describe a typical ex-pat life, but also the day to day life of a young family living abroad, with an occasional trip on an animal safari. The letters must have been a godsend to grandparents left at home in England, missing the children, and in amongst my letters are some from the children to their much missed grandparents.
What a pity I wasn't on blipfoto!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.