Good Things

It seems there is a lot of dissatisfaction about blip and the new association with Polaroid. It didn't bother me much. Developing and improving a website and apps costs money and plenty of it.
Everyone seems to agree that blip did need updating. But where does the money come from? Seemingly the membership fee model is not the answer -- blip does not have the luxury of the 700 million users that whatsapp has to charge every user a tiny fee ($1). Nor does it have enough users prepared to pay £25 to continue down that road alone.
Many users have expressed disgust at the prospect of advertising on the site (why?) and have even been seriously turned off by the rename and presence of the word Polaroid on the page -- isn't that like staying in the freezing sea to perish because the captain of the rescue ship has a Nike tick on his cap. I wonder what a more acceptable financial plan would look like or even if there is one that would satisfy everyone.
I wonder too with all this bad feeling, has the original ethos of blip been overshadowed?
I see similarities with the music industry. Anyone over a certain age can remember the joy and excitement of buying, playing, and owning a 12 inch vinyl disc. Compare that to the scattergun of today's music, instant download of poor quality music recordings to be forgotten in a week or two when another hundred tracks have passed through.
It's easy to forget special moments when a record of them languishes amongst thousands of other snapshots. Isn't that what blip is about? Celebrating the good and great things in life?
Like today, when I walked into the Post Office with £5 in my pocket. When I got to the counter I was 20p short of the money I needed to pay for some postage and these pens. I turned around to put the pens back, and the cashier said 'don't worry, pay me another time'. I thought that that gesture was worth remembering. It reminded me how such a simple, kind and considerate gesture can lift the spirit.
A star then for that member of staff at Heathfield Post Office (who has probably lost his job now because he couldn't balance his till).
And yes, I have had a quiet day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.