GREEN MAN'S MUSING

By GREENMAN

Summer Swifts - the disappearing summer visitor!

If I were to think of one, overriding memory from my own childhood. It would have to be the summer swifts. Which would draw me to my bedroom window, each evening. To watch these screaming visitor racing pass at high speed and to my amazement disappear up under the eaves and roof tiles. At dusk hundreds upon hundreds, would gather up to roost on the wing or hidden way in lofts and eaves. It was always a sad day, when we would return from our weeks summer holiday. To find they had left to return back to their wintering grounds in Africa.
Tonight as I stand at my window looking out. Only a quarter of a mile, from where I was born. I can only count 4 swifts! Yes, I know it is still early in the season, but this time last year I counted about 20. I can foresee in my lifetime, these birds disappearing from the summer skies above our towns and cities forever! What a loss would that be to this country we so love! But our love for better buildings is driving out these harmless summer house guests. So what can we do to help? Well, we can leave a few gaps between our tiles and up under the eaves. Or we can put up the odd nesting box. Which can be made very cheaply indeed! One great non-profit making website with loads of great information is, (www.londons-swifts.org.uk/) Please if you get time this summer look up and look out for these amazing summer visitors!


Swift Bird

Will nobody swiftly move in front of me?
This obstacle you are is like a bird in flight.
Travelled by the wind, easier than a wing,
This tragic loss negates my allowable happiness.
Shadows and enemies are in the locality,
Flight is destiny, passing my three tests.
One test is the launching of heads,
One is to succeed in beauty,
And the other must be done to be supreme animal.
The farthest land is gained by those airs traversed,
Will this be a little weird for my head and heart?

Naveed Akram
C:1973

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.