Sydney

By Sydney

The Nutcracker

Courtney and Rosie took my father and I to see The Nutcracker as it is the last season (after 18) they will use a set designed by Maurice Sendak. It's a spectacular set, very engaging but it did seem a bit as if the costumes had faded a bit since we had seen it when the girls were little. We had dinner before the performance, I had a delicious hard cider and we walked arm and arm through the drizzle to our seats. Rose particularly loves the Nutcracker and has seen it all over the world so it was great fun to hear her compare and contrast the different interpretations, at least until she got lost in the conversation and veered somewhere else~we are all so easily distracted :) 

Today I went with a friend to a 9:45 AM showing of Into the Woods which we greatly enjoyed! I don't remember ever attending a movie in the morning  before but it was just a fabulous outing! This theater serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and spirits during the performance should you choose to do so and the seats rock and are extremely comfortable! Imagine! It was far too early to drink though there was something called Sex on the Beach (who names these things?) which combined cranberry juice, peach schnapps and vodka with a sugared rim that I was sorely tempted to order, it would be such a lovely color! (and taste yummy to boot!) The movie was rollicking fun and I may return with a few friends.

Tomorrow some friends are coming over for tea and shortbread in a new mold I was given for Christmas festooned with the imprints of thistles. We will go for a walk, watch the Christmas episode of Call the Midwife which I have saved for them and then tomorrow night I am off to an Evensong performance and bonfire at St. Marks Cathedral.

Then...Monday morning...back to work :)
It's been a lovely break!
Happy weeks to all of you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.