SSN595

By SSN595

"PEARS"

George Baldesin sculpture at the National Gallery of Australia in Canberra.

Having just read "JoeAnswers Polariod Blipfoto Q&A", I would like to say how much I have enjoyed my first 191 Blips and especially the comments and views between so many Blippers around the globe.
Unquestionably Joe and his team have created a wonderful medium which has grown into something much larger than originally intended and I'm sure all us Blippers without exception are grateful for their efforts and congratulate them on their marvellous achievement.
Both the recent in change in format and the "partnership" with Polaroid appears to have come as a big shock to most Blippers and I felt that these two occurrences were connected. When I heard of the Polaroid involvement my initial reaction was that Polaroid were perhaps putting pressure on Blip to rush the changes through in order to announce their "partnership" at the begining of this year in the expectation that most Blippers would be pleased with the new format and everyone would be happy. Unfortunately this has has not quite happened and many Blippers seem alienated.
It surprises me that in "JoeAnswers" he says that Polaroid has had nothing to do with the new format albeit I am struggling to understand why many of the changes were made without proper testing or indeed ensuring that I-Phone and I-Pad Apps.were operational at the change over. However, the main thing now is to move forward and resolve the outstanding issues.
I have noticed that most Blippers views have dropped considerably since the new site and in my case by around 75% from the 23rd of December. Perhaps this is due to seasonal factors or maybe a combination of that and site access difficulties or maybe nothing to do with either.
It is perhaps relevant that "JoeAnswers Polariod Blipfoto Q&A" only had 127 views when I read it (hopefully considerably more now) which to me is surprising considering the huge number of Blippers and perhaps an indicative of a communications problem between Blip Central and it's Blippers. For example I noticed yesterday that the I-Phone and I-Pad Apps are now operational, however, I would have thought Blip could have emailed everyone to advise of this as I feel that many Blippers simply stopped posting or commenting when their Apps. ceased to work . I also feel that an email to everyone listing the key features which have been dropped along with an estimated timescale for re-instating would help to regain confidence with a large number of Blippers.
We are clearly not aware (nor are we really entitled to know) to the bigger picture and this is perhaps causing some consternation, however, I want to be positive and hope that the new "partnership" will prove worthwhile for Joe, his team, Polaroid and all us Blippers.
Once again a big thank you to Joe for a great concept, making it happen and
wishing you all continued success.
Keep Blipping
SSN 595 :-)
(Copied to Joe)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.