fayeboo

By fayeminister

Goldcrest

So I would have liked to get a better picture, but I did not even know what I was photographing until I saw that I had managed to get a picture! I kept seeing small movements in the conifer tree. I know my sparrows quite well, and knew it was not one of those. It seemed very small and was only hoping out into the open for a second and then was gone. I managed to snap this photograph and identify the bird as a tiny goldcrest! I thought there was only one but you can see two in this picture so I assume more were hiding as they like to hang out together or with mixed flocks in winter. I have never seen these in my garden before, it was so lovely, I think my new bird feeder is definitely bringing new species in, even if these goldcrests usually forage in the treetops. It was great to be able to use my christmas gift, RSPB pocket guide to British birds! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.