Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Mystery

Out at the crack of dawn 10 o'clock this morning with Archie, and I found what I've been looking for... A round tree stump with a discarded Christmas tree stuck in it. I know I already have one (at the extortionate cost of £10) for my chopping block, but we need one for a big lamp in the kitchen. At the moment it stands on various different sized bread boards, which is unacceptable to people who watched 'Interior Design Challenge' avidly. No, a tree stump will be the perfect circular shape.

And so I rushed Archie home, threw his breakfast at him, grabbed my axe (to dislodge the stump) and set off at a trot back down the road.

But when I got there, IT HAD DISAPPEARED!! I searched around further, no sign of it!! The tree and the base were gone. I stomped back up the road with my axe. I may have looked liked someone off to settle a score. People may have crossed to the other side of the street.

Another lovely day - just right for another visit to the fabulous Hollyrood Park and Arthur's Seat. No. I forgot! It's Sunday - Not allowed, unless we walk miles before we even get there..

And so Archie and I pottered about the in the front garden - if only he knew how dangerous I am with an axe, he would not get so close! I re-arranged the woodshed, and now have two pleasing piles of smaller logs and bigger logs with the pointy ends chopped off so that they fit in the Aga.

Archie sits like this on the edge of the sofa quite often. He's listening to Leonard Cohen on the Bose sound system. That dog has taste.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.