Hands

I decided to try another post with a photo illustrating a poem.  Thank you for the kind words about my doing so yesterday.

HANDS

For so long it seemed important
            To prove they were large enough
            To palm a ball
            Wield an axe
            Wrestle with my nephew.
You looked
             Touched
                        And said
                                    They reflected sensitivity.
 Your used your own,
            Small, soft, and gentle,
            To travel across veins,
            Locate scars from careless acts,
            And show me
            A practical extremity
            Is an extension of my soul.
As you plan another journey,
            Include a detour around my fingers
            And use my lifeline
            To find your way home. 

Dan W. Moore

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.