Oregon Football Détente Solidarity

A most unusual pair of railroad box cars are parked on a siding alongside Route 99 north of Eugene over the weekend.

We noticed them on Friday on our way home from camping.

The University of Oregon and Oregon State University are forever rivals in all sports, but particularly so in Football.

Non-Oregonians, as Kathy and I are, must be taught about the "Oregon Civil War" that occurs every fall as the two school's football teams clash on the football field.

However when the University of Oregon “Ducks” team succeeds in being selected to play in the Rose Bowl Oregon Détente is declared and Solidarity prevails.

I’ve never seen either the U of O box car or OS box car before and seeing them parked together like this certainly brought a smile to my face.

The power of football to produce unusual behavior in people never ceases to amaze me.

I think this bit of railroad frivolity is hilarious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.