Dogfight

It was only after I’d lined the moth mullein up for a shot that I noticed the two tiny bees. They were battling it out for possession of the flowers. I was surprised at their aggression. When one approached a flower the other dive bombed it with a force that sent them both hurtling away. The first one to collect itself made for the flower, but the other prepared for another assault. This happened with such speed that my eyes could not easily follow the rapid turns and dives. Of several shots I took this was only one in which both were reasonably clear. The bees are NZ native solitary bees. They are about 7 or 8mm long.

Another hot day, but not as hot as yesterday. The colour in the background of the photo is the new green. My son will be pleased. He loves it when the lawn dries off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.