KatGirl

By katgirl

Infusion center

This was not my ideal place to spend Christmas eve. But I was dehydrated from another GI episode and I am immensely grateful to the nurses who are working today so that I can receive IV fluids without going to the ER. In fact, when I thanked my nurse for being here, she said no one had ever thanked her for being here on a holiday! I was shocked. Veterinary clients are often so grateful when we are open on holidays. Perhaps pet owners are more cognizant to be grateful than sick people who feel too crabby or sick to care.

When I am at the infusion center, I often receive a visit from a therapy dog. Today I saw Rata, who I have met before. She is a 14 year old Crocker mix and seemed so happy to be there. I have a great fondness for working dogs and I wonder if Rata's work helps her stay mentally and physically healthy for her age. You can see her blue 'business card' on the table.

Also on the table is a beautiful stocking and a Christmas ornament (brought by Rata). The stocking contained a scarf (terribly ugly but it helped to keep my arm with the IV warm), candy, and a card saying no one should fight cancer alone. I am thankfully not fighting cancer, but many of the patients there are. I was quite touched that volunteers were thinking of even the outpatients at the hospital.

The fluids really helped. Those nurses and my doctor are so awesome!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.