fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Comfort

...Comes in all forms and shapes and ways!   This photo of course , is the hooligans one resting her head upon her best pal Cowboy.  He doesn't mind at all and they love to cuddle and snooze on the same bed and saves us space !  Seeing them reminded me that today I needed to lend some major comfort and support to a dear friend I mentioned last week who was facing life threatening surgery.  They decided against the surgery feeling she was too frail to withstand it.  They thought she was a bit better and PT would help.  But now they are giving her major pain meds round the clock for her insufferable pain and have her in hospice care.  Her one daughter is there most of the time and asked that i come today in the afternoon which I did.  

I brought things her daughter suggested...I wasn't sure what my friend would be up to or how alert she would be.  She recognised me immediately , smiled but was obviously not able to say much.  I did bring a beer and dark chocolate upon suggestions.  She took a tiny bit of the dark chocolate.  I told her a few tales and showed her many pictures from my blip site so she could see my grandson and kids and some friends she knew.  She seemed to enjoy that most.  Next visity I'll read some Mary Oliver poems which I know she loves.  I visited a lot with her lovely daughter---coincidentally her daughter's husband rode my school bus when I drove--it was when he was a youngster many moons ago!  

It was heartbreaking to see my friend in pain and to see her not mobile at all with little hope for regaining any mobility.  Very sad....I tried to provide a tiny smidgen of comfort to ease her pain a tad....one just never knows does one?  And life so fragile.  I'll return soon to her...she is being moved to an apt. close to her daughter and will have round the clock care . 

We all need to be comforted in some manner ....let's all be gentle with each other.  Peace, Clare

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.