Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Our Annual Messiah Sing-Along

Handel wrote his famous Messiah in 1741 and its first public performance was in Dublin, Ireland in 1742.

Fast forward 273 years and I have a hunch good 'ole George Frederic would've enjoyed this evening's Messiah Sing-Along just as much as we all did. The sing-along has become an annual event hosted by my neighbors, Betsy and Jim. Betsy not only directs the choir at her church, but also plays viola in our local Whatcom Symphony and teaches viola from her home. The Messiah Sing-Along combines a bit of both groups along with her lucky neighbor - me!

I found the evening thoroughly enjoyable and was giddy with the notion of being enveloped on all sides by my favorites: music, string quartets, singing, and a massive buffet table overflowing with delectable food and drink. 

You really cannot go wrong when music, food, wine, and good company are combined. And how fun it was to sing (or, in my case, sight-read) Handel's Messiah while sipping a lovely glass of Prosecco. What a delightfully satisfying evening!

p.s. YES - that's a harpsichord in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.