The Bounty

I arrived home yesterday after being away for three weeks. Today included fun stuff like food shopping, bill paying, and mowing the lawn. On my way home from the shops, I made a brief visit to the river and took a couple of quick shots of the "Bounty", tied up near the foot of Market Street.

This ship was built in 1960 in Nova Scotia. It follows the original plans in the British Naval maritime Museum. MGM (Metro-Goldwyn-Meyer studios commissioned the ship to be built at a cost of $750,000 to star in the 1962 film 'Mutiny on the Bounty' with Marlon Brando (Fletcher Christian) and Trevor Howard (Captain Bligh).

The ship is about 1/3 larger than the original. The ship has been used in many other movies including 'Pirates of the Caribbean' 2 and 3.

Will it look like this when it leaves the harbor?

Here is the bow with the Cape Fear Bridge in the background.

Thanks to the blippers who followed our trip through France, and especially to those who encouraged me with nice comments, stars and faves. I appreciated it. I hope to get back to viewing and commenting tomorrow. Have a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.