A woman's vows are writ in sand

so wrote the philanderer, Byron's hand.
What a cad!
We (edan - East Durham Artsts' Network) are having an exhibition based around Byron and Women. I haven't spent much time thinking about it because I have been enjoying making personal work... but I feel obliged to do a piece for reasons too numerable to go into here.
Soooo.. I have this idea, taking a line from his poem, 'On Women,

'A woman' vows are writ in sand'

So I went down to the shore and wrote what he said in the sand :-)
(See what I did there??? Visual pun???)
I have reversed the image with the intention of transferring it onto a piece of hefty watercolour paper with some kind of image transfer gel. I have had very mixed results with this process - so watch this space... I promise to post my failures here as well as my successes!
If all goes well I will add my own second line (below) hand done with some form of calligraphy, to highlight the irony of this statement of his.

...accused the philanderer, Byron's hand

Who knows if it will work or what the finished result will be - but you know - as I get older I think it's okay to do things with no idea how they will turn out :-)
Heck - it's only paper!
And ink
And paint.
And time...
:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.