Richharris

By Richharris

Family Nest

On Saturday we did some serious sightseeing. We got the tube to Qianmen at the southern end of Tiananmen Square and then walked up along the axis of old Beijing from the old Southern Gate, through the Forbidden City and then up a hill called Jingshan Park where we could see how far we had come. Beijing is vast and I reckon we walked a good few miles. The park tickled my Dad with its signage of the spot where Chongzhen, the last Emperor of the Ming Dynasty hanged himself. I guess you had to be there...

We then got a taxi to the Olympic park to see the Bird's Nest. I know I have posted a picture of the stadium before but I just really like this photo of Mum, Dad and Jenny so I thought it was the best way to sum up a really nice weekend of sightseeing with them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.