The four pictures I took this morning of Rhododendron moupinense were all slightly out of focus for some reason, almost certainly just crap photography, so it's as well that I took this succulent out of the glasshouse and photographed it in front of the Leyland hedge.

Bryophyllum daigremontianum is a succulent perennial native to the Fiherenana River valley and Androhibolava mountains in southwest Madagascar. I knew it came from Madagascar, but had to look up the other stuff. Madagascar places always have very long names - I did actually know that the capital, Antananarivo, was formerly called by its French name, Tananarive, but is usually called Tana for short. Why do I know that? I've always known it!

Anyway this succulent is amazing, unless you live somewhere sub-tropical or tropical, when it's an invasive weed. It's a plant that we used to grow as children, along with its cousin Bryophyllum tubiflorum - here - as they have the remarkable ability to form plantlets along the leaf margins which grow roots before dropping off and populating the adjacent pots or soil or even, I read, the curtains! For kids, who like things to happen quickly, it's magic! They do flower too - they're amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.