shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Out wandering

This is the closest Callum has got to going out for a walk in a pram with his Mum. This was a mobile cot on a wee trip to Cardiology for a wee check up. Usually when wheeling babies around in these cots they just put the oxygen along one side, but Callum has got a bit too big for that, so a student nurse was helping out. He will be at Yorkhill a bit longer, partly as Crosshouse don't seem to know anything at all about him coming, and partly as they have widespread cases of what in hospital speak is called RSV, or the common cold for most folk, but potentially much more serious for wee and sick people. There's plenty of it around in Yorkhill too, but he's in the only ward completely clear of it, and the nurse in charge is determined to keep it that way, so he's probably in the best place.

After spending a lovely few days with friends and family in Glasgow, I am posting this from my own bed back in Oxford. A rather hectic day not just with Callum and travelling, but which started off with the annoyance of shopping for a coat which I had already bought (yes, really)! M&S in store customer service is excellent, online is truly pathetic. I had found a warm coat for my upcoming trip to the USA in their Oxford store, ordered a different colour on line before Christmas to be delivered to the store in Oxford for me to collect tomorrow, but on Saturday got an email to say they had cancelled my order and refunded my money, with no explanation of why, and major inconvenience for me as I only have 10 days to go before I leave, and a huge list of things to do in my free from work time. After contacting their customer service folk via the website saying I really need the coat and have not time to shop, and do they have it in any of the other colours, I got a response from someone who hadn't even read what I had sent. The explanation for the late cancellation was lots of people ordering the same item at the same time (so why did it take them 12 days to inform me!), and they had none left at all, but if I wanted to try a few stores, I might still get one. Hmmm, all rather smells of a distinct lack of stock control to me. I got the coat in Glasgow this morning, sadly not in the colour I wanted, but they were decent enough to honour the reduced price I had paid when ordering, as there had been a 30% off women's coats offer on that day. All credit to the store staff in Oxford and Glasgow for being very helpful, but their web service will be getting a nasty email.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.