Sleepy Cherryblossom

By CherryBee

Alan Cumming by Christian Hook.

Maggie and I went to the Portrait Gallery for a proper look at the Alan Cumming painting (and a meander around the BP Portrait Award Exhibition). I've been avidly following the 'Sky Arts Portrait Artist of the Year' and it culminated in the winner, Christian Hook, painting Alan Cumming for the SNPG. I really loved Hook's work throughout the competition and although it was difficult to pick out a favourite towards the end (they were all so good) I had hoped that he would clinch it. I was really excited to see him paint Alan Cumming too, I've been a big fan for years (as far back as the 'The High Life' and more recently seeing him live at the Festival a couple of years ago, oh and I love him in 'The Good Wife'!) and couldn't wait to see what the result would be. The final program was fascinating, Hook flew to NY to see Alan back stage at Cabaret, asked him a lot about himself and photographed and painted him in the dressing room and on the stage performing - it really was a collaborative process. I have to admit however I wasn't absolutely sure about how he ultimately chose to portray him. He wanted to express Alan's Scottish identity and staunch support for Independence while incorporating his performing career and sexuality. Looking at it though I kind of felt that he was being throttled by his Scottishness - the kilt around his neck being just a bit...for want of a better word...odd! That was my first impression anyway. Actually going and seeing it up close makes a big difference. Christian Hook is a wonderful artist, I love the way he paints, it's bold and expressive and beautiful and most of all interesting. There's so much to see and discover in what he does, there's detail there that you don't notice right away.
I'm actually looking forward to going again sometime during the week when it's quieter and I can get right up to it and not be in everyone's way!

It was Book Group this morning and after being out last night I don't think any of us were super-enthusiastic to leave out warm beds and go up to LGB's! Of course once we got there we were all excited chatter as usual, just with a bit less energy. Until MsInk brought out the cake anyway ;) None of us thought much of the book (The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick) though. Unbelievably dull, so much so that I'll make no attempt to finish it.

Totes shattered now. BED!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.