Phantom Tree

I walked a different route this morning, going through the neighborhoods to the shopping center on our side of town. Dropped off the stuff at the UPS store, picked up a new power strip for plugging in all my gadgets, checked Safeway for eggnog. Nope. Darn it: I missed eggnog this year! How did that happen? When it first appears, it's too early, way before Thanksgiving. Then all of a sudden, when dreams of an eggnog latte dance in my head, eggnog is no more. I've just gotta move a little faster next time. Cannot believe I have to wait twelve months!

But I digress. Is this not a lovely ephemeral and serendipitous thing? I had to stretch up over a high fence to get a clear shot. This large yard and abandoned buildings are right on the busy highway through town, dwarfed by fast food joints and nail parlors, a medical center and a liquor store. It's a strange little oasis, a memory of what this neighborhood used to be not that long ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.