The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Georgetown food adventure

After reading lots of articles, blogs and watching Anthony Bourdain, I devoted the day to walking around Georgetown sampling some of the best and most popular dishes.

First was Asam Laksa, a fish-based sour & spicy soup. Then was some famous Penang Road Cendol (also spelt Chendul, depending on the signs) which is a delicious and refreshing dessert soup with ice, coconut milk, jelly noodles, palm sugar and red beans.

In the evening I had Roti Canai, a single roti with a small bowl of curry sauce. It was an incredible starter and only cost me 22p! Then I walked to a street market and found a well-known stall (pictured) just serving Char koay teow, Malaysia's equivalent of Pad Thai. It was nice but fairly boring compared to everything else I'd been eating. I then moved on to an Indian restaurant and had Palak Paneer with naan. I had to be rolled home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.