Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Success!

The CONE is on. Archie is not happy. But his wee sore paw is untouched. I've bathed it a couple of times - funny how he'll just sit there and let me, he seems to know it's doing him good. Or possibly just because he's on my lap, in a vice-like grip...

This morning I found a tree stump! There are loads of trees, all stump-less. So they're quite rare. As I contemplated it this morning, and how far it was to carry the axe there, I realised I could not risk it. The tree is opposite a school, so it would not be a good idea to stroll round with an axe where dozens of teenage pupils are wandering around. Even if they are dropping litter willy-nilly. And barging old folk off the pavements. Besides, the tree looked fairly well embedded in the stump, so I'm not sure I could have bashed it out.

Across the road were some workmen, unloading stuff for the new school being built. The thing about being an old biddie is that you get bolder cheekier. I went and asked if anyone could assist me.

One young chap, Jamie, came and inspected it. He declared he would saw it during his lunchtime at 1pm. I have just been back there at the appointed time, bearing my gift of a large bar of Fruit'n'Nut.

The gates were all closed off after the morning deliveries. No sign of anyone. Maybe he was too busy... Or forgot...

But lo! Hidden at the appointed place - there it was! Thank you Jamie. Chivalry is not dead.

And I got the keep the big bar of Fruit'n'Nut.

The circular stump is in place under the circular lamp stand, lifting it to the correct height over the table. The search is over. The neighbourhood can rest easy...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.