aRagingRabbit

By RDKcreate

Tangled Mind

This week work has been most unpleasant.

Deadlines merging ... solutions revealing deeper problems ... and bit by bit the mind twists itself with thoughts of discouragement and anxiety.

So it is fair to say that last night I was exhausted and I was very tempted to do nothing, but as I wondered through the house I saw three balls of twisted 'plant stuff' and this picture sort of popped into my head.

I wanted to try a visualise how I felt.

Knots within knots that seem to keep spiralling away and yet use the lighting to convey the possibility of a solution forming.

Placed the coir balls at different heights above a mirror and then angled the focal plane of the camera with the aperture set very high. This gives detail but also a sense of knots spiralling away as the composition moves out of the focal plane, this is accentuated by the mirror reflections. Top lit with a desk lamp, side lit with a white LED and held a black piece of card high above the mirror. See setup here.

Being creative ... plus a bottle of Czech Premium Lager :-) ... definitely helped

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.