Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

More snow and sun

We had an eventful ski over to Fornet area. There is one very steep narrow bit I find intimidating. Just as we reached it a young lad hammering down totally out of control wiped out just behind me. I managed to keep clear as he went down to escape being sent hurtling down the slope. But by the time I'd calmed down from the fright, 2 of his mates came charging down and crashed out just ahead of me, so I had to stay put as I wasn't confident of how they'd extricate themselves. Meanwhile more people were hurtling over the top towards them and they crashed trying to evade the carnage. By the time I got going again I was whimpering as I was too close to the steep drop to feel confident of turning, so I had to side slip on icy bits till I lost a bit of height and got myself sorted out when the slope eased in steepness and narrowness. So by the time we met our friends I wasn't up to doing all we'd planned on the glacier. I think I was being a bit wet as R kept telling me to attack it and be more aggressive.
This is Mr C on one of the more pleasant slopes before I got traumatised.
But tomorrow is a new day and we are going back to that slope so I can conquer my fear of it. Hopefully the nutters who were out of control won't have the same plan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.