Plastic

I’ve played around with this technique before. Clear plastic objects placed on a light source (iPad with a white screen) and photographed through a polarising filter will give this effect called photoelasticity. The colours are caused by stresses in the plastic and as you turn the filter different colours show up. It’s very easy to do and quite fascinating. I don’t normally use my macro lens for the technique because my polarising filter is the wrong size for it but Igor performed a bit of magic and bridged the gap between lens and filter with a stepping ring.

The objects in this case are two plastic forks with ridged handles overlapping each other. In software I added a solarisation filter and a dark vignette. I was quite pleased with the abstract result. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.